Best Tools to Track Brand Mentions in ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini (2026): 12 Trackers Compared
12 tools that track brand mentions in ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini, compared on entry price, prompts, engines, citations and trials. Checked September 2026.
On this page
Checked on 22 September 2026. Every price, limit and engine list below comes from the vendor's own pricing or product page on that day. Where a vendor does not publish something, it says "not published". Prices are in the currency each site showed us: some vendors price by region and showed euros. Disclosure: LaunchIt builds three free mention trackers, which appear in this list, so weigh that entry accordingly.
A year ago, "does ChatGPT recommend us?" was a question you answered by opening a chat and asking. It still works for a one-off check. It stops working the moment you want to know whether the answer changed since last month, which competitors moved in, and which pages the engines are drawing on. That is what an AI mention tracker does: it asks a fixed set of prompts on a schedule, records whether your brand is named, in what position, with what sentiment, and which sources were cited.
There are now more of these tools than anyone can evaluate in an afternoon, and their pricing pages are written in three different units (prompts, answers, credits). This guide puts 12 of them side by side on the four things that decide whether one fits you: what the entry plan costs, how many prompts it tracks, which engines it covers, and whether it shows citations. It is built from published plans, not from paid trials of each product, and it says so wherever a judgement depends on using the tool.
The short answer
- You want to know where you stand today, for free. Run our ChatGPT mention tracker, Perplexity mention tracker or Gemini mention tracker. Six buyer questions, the full answers, the competitors named, the sources cited, no account. Ahrefs, Semrush and SE Ranking also offer free single-brand checkers.
- You want the cheapest ongoing monitor with a clear allowance. Otterly.AI Lite, $29 a month for 15 prompts on four engines, or Am I Cited Starter at 50 euros for 200 prompts and 3,000 responses a month (no daily schedule, card required for the trial).
- You are a small marketing team that reports monthly. Peec AI Starter (85 euros, 50 prompts, 3 models, daily) and Promptwatch Essential ($95, 50 prompts, 6,000 responses, 4 models, daily) are the two most complete entry plans. SE Ranking Core (87.20 euros a month billed annually) tracks 100 prompts daily and is the better deal if you also need rank tracking.
- You already pay for an SEO suite. Use what you have first. Ahrefs Lite includes Brand Radar with 5 prompts, Semrush Starter tracks 50 prompts daily, SE Ranking Core tracks 100.
- You are an enterprise or an agency with many brands. Profound (custom pricing, up to 9 engines), Peec AI Enterprise (up to 13 models), Rankscale Growth and up (white label, API).
All 12, side by side
Sorted by the cost of getting started. "Prompts" means the questions the tool asks the engines on your behalf; a prompt run every day on three engines produces about 90 answers a month, which is why some vendors count answers or credits instead.
| Tool | Entry plan | Prompts at entry | Engines at entry | Citations | Free option |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LaunchIt trackers | Free | 6 questions per run | ChatGPT, Perplexity or Gemini (one per run) | Perplexity and Gemini runs | Free, no account |
| Rankscale | Essentials from $20/mo | Set by you (top-ups), allowance not published | ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude, Gemini, AI Overviews, AI Mode, DeepSeek, Grok, Copilot, Mistral | Yes | 7-day trial on Pro |
| Otterly.AI | Lite $29/mo ($25 billed annually) | 15 | ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot (Gemini and AI Mode $9 each, Claude $29) | Yes | 7-day trial, no card |
| ZipTie | Starter from $42.75/mo, usage-based | Not published | ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, AI Mode, Copilot, Bing AI Overview, Gemini | Yes | 7-day trial, no card |
| Am I Cited | Starter 50 euros/mo | 200 (3,000 responses/mo) | ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, AI Overviews, AI Mode | Yes | 7-day trial, card required |
| Peec AI | Starter 85 euros/mo | 50 (4,500 answers/mo) | Any 3 of ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Copilot, Naver AI, Gemini | Yes | Trial, length not published |
| SE Ranking | Core 87.20 euros/mo annual (109 monthly) | 100, daily | AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity | Yes | 14-day trial, no card |
| Promptwatch | Essential $95/mo | 50 (6,000 responses/mo) | 4 models at Essential, from ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, AI Mode, Claude, Gemini, Meta, DeepSeek, Grok | Yes, plus Reddit and YouTube | 7-day trial |
| Similarweb | AEO Intelligence $99 (billing period not stated) | 150 | ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, AI Mode | Yes | Trial, length not published |
| Ahrefs Brand Radar | Included in Lite, 119 euros/mo; standalone from $199/mo | 5 (150 checks/mo) on Lite | AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot, Claude | Yes | Free checker; no trial stated |
| Semrush AI Visibility | Inside Semrush plans; Starter 158.40 euros/mo annual (190 monthly) | 50, daily (Starter) | ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, AI Overviews "and more" | Yes | 7-day trial |
| Profound | Enterprise, custom | Trial: 50, daily, for 7 days | ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews on trial; up to 9 engines on Enterprise | Yes | 7-day trial |
Two products you may have on a shortlist are missing on purpose. Hall's website now says it is part of Tracksuit and only offers a waitlist. Scrunch AI's domain did not resolve when we checked, from two networks, so we could not confirm anything about it.
How we compared them
We opened each vendor's pricing page and product pages on the same day and wrote down what they say. We did not rely on review sites, and we did not rely on memory: this category changes its prices and plan names every few months (Semrush's toolkit is now sold as "AI Visibility" inside Semrush One, ZipTie moved from ziptie.dev to ziptie.ai, and Hall was acquired in July). If a number is not on the vendor's page, we say "not published" rather than guess.
The four columns are the four questions to answer before paying:
- Prompts. How many questions the tool tracks. Multiply by engines and by days to see how many answers you actually get, because "50 prompts" on three engines daily is 4,500 answers a month, and vendors that count credits or responses are counting that.
- Engines. ChatGPT is on every list. Perplexity, Gemini and Google's AI Overviews and AI Mode are the next four, and they matter differently by market: AI Overviews reach anyone who searches Google, Perplexity's users click citations, Gemini is grounded on live Google results. Claude, Copilot, Grok and DeepSeek are usually higher tiers or add-ons.
- Citations. Whether the tool records which pages the engine drew on. This is the most useful output for a small company, because it is a list of the exact pages you need to be on. Every paid tool here does it; ChatGPT without search does not cite, so trackers show sources mainly for Perplexity, Gemini and Google's AI answers.
- Cadence and seats. Daily tracking is now standard at entry level. Seats vary from one (Am I Cited, Promptwatch, Ahrefs Lite) to unlimited (Peec AI, Otterly, ZipTie).
The tools, from free to enterprise
LaunchIt mention trackers (free)
Our own tools, so read this entry with that in mind. Each tracker takes your brand name and a one-line description, builds six buyer questions (four about the category that never mention you, two about you by name), sends them to the engine through its API, and shows you every answer in full with the brands named, the sources cited and a score out of 100 that weights category mentions at 70 points and brand recognition at 30. The ChatGPT tracker asks OpenAI's GPT-5 mini model; the Perplexity tracker uses Perplexity's Sonar model and tallies the domains it cited; the Gemini tracker uses Gemini 2.5 Flash with Google Search grounding switched on and lists the grounding sources.
Good for: a founder who wants to know where they stand today, and a monthly re-check pasted into a spreadsheet. Not for: ongoing monitoring. One brand and one engine per run, no history, no alerts, no competitor dashboards. The method behind the six questions is in how to track brand mentions in ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini.
Rankscale (from $20 a month)
Rankscale has the lowest published starting price in the category, with a catch: the $20 Essentials plan is a shell you fill with credits ("top up anytime"), and the page does not say what $20 buys. The first plan with a stated allowance is Pro at $99 a month: 1,200 credits, up to 4,800 answers, 10 brand dashboards and 50 page audits. Rankscale names ten engines (ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude, Gemini, AI Overviews, AI Mode, DeepSeek, Grok, Copilot, Mistral) with no per-engine upsell, supports scheduling from hourly to monthly, and adds technical page audits with what it calls 94+ checkpoints.
Good for: someone who wants many engines without paying per engine, and is comfortable working out the credit maths. Watch: the 7-day free trial is on Pro only, and the site's "17+ engines" claim names only ten.
Otterly.AI ($29 a month)
Otterly.AI is the clearest cheap plan on the list. Lite is $29 a month ($25 on annual billing) for 15 prompts tracked daily on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot, with unlimited team members, three recommendations a week and 1,000 URL audits a month. Gemini and Google AI Mode are $9 add-ons each at this tier and Claude is $29. Standard ($189) moves you to 100 prompts and unlocks the API and MCP access; Premium ($489) is 400 prompts; extra prompts are $99 per 100. The trial is 7 days with no card.
Good for: a small company with one product and a dozen buyer questions that matter. Watch: 15 prompts fills up fast once you add a second market or a second language, and the jump to Standard is large.
ZipTie (from $42.75 a month)
ZipTie prices by usage: you pay for the prompts you monitor multiplied by the engines you run them on, with presets that start at $42.75 a month (Starter) and climb to $659.59 (Professional) and beyond. Seven engines are available (ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Microsoft Copilot, Bing AI Overview, Gemini), teammates and projects are unlimited, and the product also records the top ten organic results on Google and Bing next to each AI check. Its headline metric is an AI Success Score from 0 to 100 that blends citation rate, mention rate and sentiment. The 7-day trial needs no card and covers ChatGPT, AI Overviews and Perplexity at 25 prompts a day.
Good for: teams that want to pay only for the engines they care about. Watch: the Starter preset's prompt count is not published, and the site offers quarterly to annual discounts of 5 to 20 percent, so the $42.75 figure may already be a discounted rate.
Am I Cited (50 euros a month)
Am I Cited gives the most prompts for the least money at entry: Starter is 50 euros a month for one domain, 200 prompts, up to 3,000 AI responses a month, 10 competitors and 50 generated articles, on ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, AI Overviews and AI Mode. The trade-offs are that Starter has no daily schedules, one workspace member, and the 7-day trial requires a card. Pro (120 euros) adds Copilot, daily runs and revenue attribution through Stripe and Shopify; Premium (500 euros) adds Claude, Grok and DeepSeek and a white label.
Good for: a solo marketer who wants breadth of prompts more than daily frequency. Watch: the engine lists differ between the homepage and the pricing page (the pricing page is the one that describes each plan), and the Enterprise price is quoted differently on two pages.
Peec AI (85 euros a month)
Peec AI is the tool most often recommended to marketing teams, and its Starter plan explains why: 85 euros a month for 50 prompts, your choice of three models, daily tracking, about 4,500 AI answers a month, one project and one country, with unlimited users, languages and competitors. Pro (205 euros) is 150 prompts and two projects; Advanced (425 euros) is 350 prompts, five projects, multi-country tracking and a Looker Studio connector; Enterprise tracks up to 13 models with API access and SSO. Annual billing takes 15 percent off. Peec's model list at Starter is ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Copilot, Naver AI and Gemini; Perplexity is listed as an add-on model, and extra models cost extra.
Good for: a marketing team of any size that wants a dashboard the whole team will open. Watch: the prices only render after the page loads, so a plain fetch of the pricing page shows none; the trial length is not published.
SE Ranking AI Visibility Tracker (87.20 euros a month, billed annually)
SE Ranking bundles AI tracking into its SEO platform. Core is 87.20 euros a month on annual billing (109 monthly) and lists 100 prompts tracked daily, one manager seat and AI competitive research for five domains, across AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity. Growth (188 euros annual) is 250 prompts and three seats. There is also an "AI Search" add-on at 63.20 euros a month annual (79 monthly) that adds an AI Results Tracker, unlimited competitor research and 200 prompts in a separate product called SE Visible; the pricing page does not make clear whether you need the add-on for prompt tracking or only for the extras. The 14-day trial needs no card and includes 20 AI prompts a day.
Good for: a team that needs classic rank tracking and AI tracking in one bill. Watch: the add-on question above; ask support before you buy.
Promptwatch ($95 a month)
Promptwatch Essential is $95 a month for one project, 50 prompts, 6,000 responses, daily tracking, country-level tracking, one seat, and MCP and API access from the first tier, which is unusual. It tracks four models at Essential from a list that includes ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and AI Mode, Claude, Gemini, Meta, DeepSeek and Grok. Two features stand out: "Agent Analytics", which shows AI crawler activity on your site, and offsite citation tracking that includes Reddit and YouTube. Professional ($245) is 150 prompts and two projects; Business ($579) is 350 prompts, five projects and state or city-level tracking.
Good for: a technical marketer who wants API access and crawler logs without an enterprise contract. Watch: which four models Essential includes is not stated; the annual price is not published.
Similarweb AI Search Intelligence ($99)
Similarweb sells its AI visibility product on a separate site, with an "AEO Intelligence" tier at $99 for one user, 150 tracked prompts, three months of history, sentiment analysis, citation analysis and AI traffic data, across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and AI Mode. Its distinctive angle is Similarweb's traffic panel: the product shows which prompts send clicks and scores the influence of source domains and URLs. Higher bundles at $333 and $542 add SEO and ads intelligence.
Good for: analysts who want AI mentions next to real traffic data. Watch: the page does not state whether $99 is monthly, and the corporate pricing page carries no figures at all; confirm before you budget.
Ahrefs Brand Radar (included with Ahrefs Lite, 119 euros a month)
Brand Radar comes with Ahrefs' paid plans from Lite upward. Lite includes 5 tracked AI prompts and 150 checks a month with daily updates and one user; Standard (229 euros) is 10 prompts, Advanced (419 euros) is 20, and prompt packages add 2,500 to 25,000 checks a month for 46.70 to 234 euros. A standalone Brand Radar starts at $199 a month according to its product page (179 euros on the pricing page). Engines: AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot and Claude. What sets it apart is the database behind it: Ahrefs says it holds 454 million real prompts and can show any brand's AI visibility, not only yours, plus Bot Analytics that watch AI crawlers in real time.
Good for: Ahrefs customers, who already have it, and anyone who wants to research competitors' AI visibility without adding them as tracked brands. Watch: 5 prompts on Lite is a taste, not a monitoring plan; there is no free trial statement, though a free AI Visibility Checker exists.
Semrush AI Visibility (inside Semrush plans)
Semrush no longer sells a separate AI toolkit; the features live in "Semrush One" and its regular plans. The pricing page showed us the SEO plan at 112.52 euros a month on annual billing (134 monthly) with AI search performance, AI sentiment and custom prompts but no prompt count; Starter at 158.40 euros (190 monthly) with 50 prompts tracked daily for one domain; Pro+ at 238 euros with 100 prompts; Advanced at 436.99 euros with 200. Engines are described as ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Google's AI answers "and more". The distinctive feature is "AI-Cited Media": which outlets the LLMs cite most in your topic, so you know where to pitch.
Good for: Semrush customers. Watch: data updates are weekly according to the Semrush One page, and the entry plan's prompt allowance is not published.
Profound (enterprise, custom pricing)
Profound publishes two plans: a 7-day free trial (50 prompts run daily on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, one region, unlimited seats) and Enterprise, priced by conversation. It tracks up to nine answer engines, including Perplexity, AI Mode, Copilot, DeepSeek, Claude and Exa Search, offers citation analytics, an "AI Marketer" agent that drafts recommended work for approval, SSO and SOC 2, and says it is used by a third of the Fortune 100. The FAQ mentions a self-serve agency plan with 400 credits per client workspace, but no price for it appears.
Good for: enterprises and agencies that need many markets, many engines and procurement paperwork. Watch: no paid price of any kind is published.
How to choose
Start from the prompts, not the engines. Write the questions your buyers actually type: "best tools for X", "recommend a Y for Z", "alternatives to (the market leader)", "which should I use, and why". For one product in one market, 15 to 25 prompts cover the ground; every extra market or language multiplies that. That number tells you the tier you need, and it removes half the list.
Then pick engines by where your buyers are. If most of your traffic is Google, AI Overviews and AI Mode are the engines to watch, and Gemini moves with the same index. If you sell to developers and researchers, Perplexity matters more than its market share suggests, because its users click the citations. ChatGPT is on every plan. Claude, Copilot and Grok are worth paying extra for only if your customers tell you they use them.
Finally, decide what you will do with citations. A citation list is only valuable if someone will act on it: get listed on the directory it cites, pitch the publication it quotes, fix the outdated page it read. If nobody on the team owns that work, a $29 tool and a monthly hour is the right budget. If someone does, the difference between a 50-prompt and a 150-prompt plan is small next to the cost of that person's time.
Before you pay for anything
Run a free check first. Ask the six questions in a fresh chat on each engine, or let our trackers do it, and write down two things: which competitors were named, and which sources were cited. If your brand was absent from every category question, no tracker will change that; the fix is coverage, and how to get your startup recommended by LLMs walks through it. If you were named in some answers and not others, that is exactly the situation where weekly or daily tracking earns its price, because you can watch what moves the needle.
One pattern from our own runs is worth repeating: when a tracker names a competitor you have never heard of, look them up. They are usually a brand that got into two or three well-cited roundups and directory pages. That is the whole trick, and it is repeatable. A launch listing with a clear one-line description is one of the cheaper ways to be on the pages these engines read, which is part of why we run one.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best tool to track ChatGPT mentions?
It depends on budget and team. For a free one-off check, a mention tracker that shows the full answers is enough. For ongoing monitoring under $100 a month, Otterly.AI (from $29), Peec AI (85 euros) and Promptwatch ($95) are the clearest entry plans, and Am I Cited (50 euros) gives the most prompts. If you already pay for Ahrefs, Semrush or SE Ranking, their built-in trackers cover ChatGPT too.
Is there a free ChatGPT brand mention tracker?
Yes. LaunchIt's ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini trackers are free with no account and show the actual answers. Ahrefs, Semrush and SE Ranking each offer a free AI visibility checker with limited daily attempts. Free checks give you today's picture; they do not keep history or alert you to changes.
How much do AI brand monitoring tools cost?
In September 2026, published entry plans run from $20 (Rankscale, allowance unspecified) and $29 (Otterly.AI, 15 prompts) to about 85 to 99 euros or dollars for 50 to 150 prompts (Peec AI, SE Ranking, Promptwatch, Similarweb). Mid tiers with 150 to 400 prompts sit between roughly $190 and $580 a month. Profound and other enterprise plans are priced by quote.
Do these tools track Perplexity and Gemini as well as ChatGPT?
Most do, but not always at the entry tier. Otterly.AI charges $9 a month extra for Gemini on Lite, Peec AI lists Perplexity as an add-on model, and Am I Cited and SE Ranking include all three from the first plan. Check the engine column above for the tier you plan to buy.
What does "prompt" mean on these pricing pages?
A prompt is one question the tool asks the AI engines on your behalf, for example "what are the best invoicing tools for freelancers?". Tools run each prompt on each engine on a schedule, so 50 prompts on three engines daily is about 4,500 answers a month. Vendors that count "answers", "responses" or "credits" are counting those runs.
Why does one tool say I am mentioned and another say I am not?
AI answers vary between runs even when nothing changed, and tools differ in the model version, the region, whether web search is on, and the exact wording of the prompt. Compare trends inside one tool rather than single results across tools, and ask each prompt more than once before drawing a conclusion.
Can I track mentions in ChatGPT without any tool?
Yes. Open a fresh chat for each question so earlier answers do not colour the next one, ask your set of buyer questions, and record which brands appear and how yours is described. It takes about half an hour a month for one product. The step-by-step version, including a scoring sheet, is in our tracking guide.
Free tools mentioned in this article
No account, no credit card. Built for founders doing their own SEO.
Ask AI about this article
Open your assistant with the article preloaded: key takeaways and next steps.
